How can Web 2.0 helps to enhancing your personal productivity?

Hello everyone ! Its good to see you guys here again!! this week I will talk about how can web 2.0 tools assist with your own personal productivity.

Web 2.0… What is it’s usage and what is the difference between Web1.0 and Web2.0? Well, this is a commonly asked question to someone who might not know about the term “web2.0″. However, those who didn’t know what’s the definition of web2.0 might have already use it on a daily basis. Facebook, Twitter, Skype, Wikipedia, Youtube, and even WordPress is a part of the Web2.0 family.

According to wikipedia, “Web 2.0 is a concept that takes the network as a platform for information sharinginteroperabilityuser-centered design,[1]and collaboration on the World Wide Web. A Web 2.0 site allows users to interact and collaborate with each other in asocial media dialogue as creators (prosumers) of user-generated content in a virtual community, in contrast to websites where users (consumers) are limited to the passive viewing of content that was created for them. Examples of Web 2.0 include social networking sitesblogswikisvideo sharing sites, hosted servicesweb applicationsmashups and folksonomies.

 

Web 2.0 enhancing personal productivity

Social media plays a big part in nowadays digital environment, online presence is now more and more important. From my personal research and analysing those data. I have came up with some Web2.0 tools that are useful and has been used by me inorder to achieve good productivity.

 

Google Scholar

Great tool for academic research, finding useful references, and published books. Throughout my bachelor degree, google scholar is  the second most useful reference source other then library. Its keyword search engine using google spider is just easy to use and accurate.

 

 

Google Docs

Useful tool for editing and creating documents online and also collaborating with others in live. Offers free storage and web-based office suite. I have been using google docs as a collaboration tool during my studies, almost every group that I have been a part of choose to use google docs as the main media of exchanging information. The reason is obvious, it is cheap and productive.

 

Signing up on Line

For the second part of the weekly activities, I have sign up to an instant messaging application named LINE.

Apparently, it is similar to whatsapp that offers functionality such as messaging, sending cute icons, and calling. However, the interface and stickers provided inside Line is a lot more cuter than whatsapp. It allows me to upload gallery and sending video and voice messages, which is quite useful on irritating my friends. Amazingly, it has a feature similar to Facebook’s Timeline that allows me to check on my friends’ updates and albums. I am also capable of posting my own status using this application. Overall it has been a great experience using this application and I will continue using it from now on.

(An example of Line’s interface)

 

Thanks for spending your time on my blog, I will see you next week!

4 thoughts on “How can Web 2.0 helps to enhancing your personal productivity?

    • I think it can consider as both, as it can allow you to interact with people and also create some intresting posts. In my country Taiwan, its very popular tool ! you should download and try it!

  1. Google Docs was one of the most commonly used tools for me when I was an uni student. I didn’t have the need to have an USB stick with me all the time and making sure it’s up-to-date. The benefit of this is very obvious while working on multiple assessments/projects at different locations or on various platforms (PC, laptop or my mobile phone device). Not to mention that it can provide a lot more benefits when it is properly implemented and used during a team project situation.

    With regards to Line Messenger, I am actually also one of its user and fan, too! It’s indeed pretty much like Whatsapp Messenger (the most popular by far?) but it has been receiving more and more new and innovated features that others don’t have yet. Though I can’t really think of a way how those features can assist in improving personal productivity just yet, however, as an everyday user of this application, the group talk/chat feature with friends or people from my workplace is very useful and important for me.

    • True. I am totoally agree with that. For me, i cant live with out these tool. it is just too usefull. it allow me to have better communication with friend and colleague. And I believe it also enahnce my personal efficiency. thx for your comment. please check out my new post. it should be very interesting for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

